Information: Childcare Areas

How my child will be learning ;

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  •  Communication and language;
  •  Physical development; and
  •  Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  •  Literacy;
  •  Mathematics;
  •  Understanding the world; and
  •  Expressive arts and design.


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Another large area of the EYFS is partnership with Parents so if any parents have any idea’s suggestions or want to get involved in any of our activities please do not hesitate to speak to a member of staff.

If you have any questions or queries about the EYFS please do not hesitate to speak to a member of staff who will be more than happy to help.